Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 4 Guests

Stag wont idle Print
1 Pages 1 Recommend Thread
tom horse
November 8, 2017, 6:06pm Report to Moderator

Posts Per Day: 0.11
Hi,
i'm thinking about buying a stag with the original Triumph V8. It drives fine although it does have a couple of small leaks, as you'd expect
My main concern is that it wont tick over and anything less than about 12-1400 Rpm and being an auto it produces a loud clunk when engaging 'D' or reverse. Is this likely just going to be carbs/dizzy related or is there some Stag gremlin lurking than will jump out and empty my wallet two days after I buy it?

TH
Private Message
RobPearce
November 9, 2017, 10:25am Report to Moderator

Club Member
Posts Per Day: 1.44
I've had that sort of thing caused by manifold gasket leaks, which are more of a pain on the V8 than any other Triumph engine. I can't immediately think of any other Stag-specific issue but I'm not really a Stag expert (when I had one, its engine was about the only trouble-free bit of the whole car).

Current fleet
1967 Vitesse 2L conv "Tessa"
1970 Spitfire Mk3 (project) "Toby"
1972 GT6 Mk3
Not enough time or space
Recently sold:
1972 2.5 PI estate "Harry" (gone to russell on here)
1973 Toledo 2-door "Spike" (gone to a club official)
Used to have:
1968 Vitesse 2L saloon
1980 Dolomite 1500
1977 Dolomite 1850
1980 Dolomite Sprint
1982 TR7 DHC Sprint
1975 2500S saloon
1971 Herald 13/60 Estate (with 1500 Spit engine)
1975 Stag
Private Message Reply: 1 - 10
tom horse
November 9, 2017, 4:00pm Report to Moderator

thanks for that, gaskets are fine, I just don't want to buy it if it has wallet emptying problem just around the corner
Private Message Reply: 2 - 10
StagNL
November 10, 2017, 3:40pm Report to Moderator

Posts Per Day: 0.44
Idle speed could be just a fiddle with the settings of the idle screws or throttle linkage, but could equally be gaskets or other form of air leak.